Hairstyle Hacks: 5 Easy Styles

Picture this: you wake up tomorrow morning, and go to do your hair and it just literally won’t. Just will not. Like. You grew these hair strands yourself and they have the audacity to tell you “sorry, I’m going to take the day off”. It’s just rude.

So what do you do about it? Walk around looking like a fool? Ya right. You look at the 5 easy styles I’ve put together for you that take less than 10 minutes to do and then you walk out the door like the boss you are. 

Screen Shot 2016-06-08 at 9.57.40 AM

To preface this article: I have fine, medium length hair. So if you have a different texture/length than I do, some of these styles will need to be modified!


Style #1: Top Knot

This one kind of goes without saying, but still deserves a spot on this list. Hair isn’t cooperating? Top Knot it. This style requires hair at least shoulder length (sorry my pixie cut ladies, I’m not going to be much help here).

FullSizeRender 79

Step one: Pull all your hair to the top of your head.

Step two: Tease it with a teasing comb and hairspray. Smooth out the pieces of hair that are on the outside of the pony tail. (still following..?)

Step three: Twist hair and secure the end with a bobby pin. Pin any stray hairs with bobby pins. Finish with a mist of hairspray.

Style #2: Braided Bun

This hairstyle is near and dear to my heart. It is my bad hair day lifesaver and featured in an embarrassing amount of Instagram pictures. I know I should switch it up sometimes but I just actually can’t because I love it so much. Okay. Good. Also my bun looks kind of crazy in this picture…? Sorry. There is a better example of this style at the end of this post here.

FullSizeRender 74

Step one: Dutch braid the side of your hair and put the rest into a pony tail. Pull out the braid so that it is loose and messy.

Step two: Tease the pony tail and smooth out the pieces of hair that are on the outside of the pony tail. You know the drill.

Step three: Twist hair into a messy bun and secure with bobby pins. Finish with a mist of hairspray.

Style #3: Half Up Half Down Dutch Braid

Okay if you haven’t realized, dutch braids are kinda my thing. I sometimes have a hard time doing regular braids now because I rarely do them. This is one of my favorite casual looks because it looks so much more complicated than it is and its incredibly easy.

Step one: Pull hair up starting a little bit above the temple. Begin braiding adding pieces of hair until it is pull right above your ears.

Step two: Finish the braid without adding anymore hair in. Tie off with a small clear elastic. Finish with a mist of hairspray.

Style #4: Half up Half Down Bun

This look is really easy and is really trending right now (raise your hand if you were doing this before it was cool…..). I like it because it takes about two seconds and it looks good with my straight hair. For those of you blessed with naturally wavy hair: I wish I was you. I however, was cursed with stick straight hair so here we are.

FullSizeRender 76

Step one: Pull hair up starting at your temples and secure with an elastic.

Step two: Tease pony tail, smooth out the top layer of hair….we’ve done this before. Twist hair into a bun and secure with a bobby pin. Pull at the bun a little bit until it has the desired messy effect. Finish with a mist of hairspray.

Style #5: French Braid Half Pulled Up 

I am going to go ahead and acknowledge that the name of this hair style needs a lot of work. But I just couldn’t decide an appropriate name. Regardless: this is a really cute style that you can dress up or down. It takes like 5 minutes, tops, and can work with curly or straight hair.

FullSizeRender 81

Step one: Part your hair to one side and french braid the side with the deeper part.

Step two: Stop braiding like an inch above your ear. Secure with two bobby pins. Finish with a mist of hairspray.


Doing your hair in the morning shouldn’t have to take longer than 10 minutes. There are styles out there that look put together and don’t take forever. Obviously those styles will depend on your hair type and length, but they can mostly be adapted to suit your individual needs! And remember….if all else fails…put on a baseball cap (one of my FAVORITE summer styles)!

Also: s/o to my husband for taking pictures of my hair at 1 am last night…you the real MVP.

Okay ladies! What did you think? Let me know in the comments below what your favorite easy hairstyle is and what you want to see next! If you like this post, share it to your favorite social media page! Don’t forget to show me some love and follow me on Instagram @blondeandambitiousblog and like my Facebook page.

 

12 thoughts on “Hairstyle Hacks: 5 Easy Styles

Leave a comment