Total Home Organization: Deep Clean.

This post is sponsored by O’Cedar Microfiber Cleaning Tools. All opinions expressed in this post are my own.

Deep Clean is the first installment in my new series called Total Home Organization. I am definitely going to jump into the actual organization part but I felt like it would be beneficial to everyone involved if we first talked about my favorite cleaning products and why you need them in your home.

5 BEST CLEANING PRODUCTS-3

The very first step to a well organized home is being clean. I will always believe that. I should have that hanging somewhere in my house honestly. I don’t know about you, but I have a really hard time functioning in a home that is dirty. It may have something to do with the fact that being a biology major, I know way more than the average person about germs. It is not a blessing people. Believe me when I say ignorance is bliss.


Top 5 Favorite Cleaning Products For The Home

Shark Bagless Navigator Freestyle Cordless Stick Vacuum

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 11.03.25 PM

I can’t rave about this vacuum enough. I have a cat. A beautiful, snuggly, FURRY cat. And he sheds like none other. I have to vacuum at least once a day so I really need a vacuum that will take care of all that fur so that we aren’t breathing cat hair during the day (as pleasant and wonderful as that sounds..). We bought this vacuum originally because it was cordless and it was supposed to be light (it is both of those things hallelujah)…but we also needed a strong vacuum. This one does it all. I am a huge fan of all Shark products so I was stoked to get it (also you can get it with Amazon prime, so there is THAT..two day shipping, my friend). It definitely does NOT disappoint.

Swiffer Duster  360 Extendable Handle 

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 11.06.06 PM

I won’t dust my home with anything else. It is the only duster I’ve found that actually catches the dust and doesn’t just move it around. I hate the look of dusty furniture (also dusty fans..dusty blinds…dusty chair legs…) so I’m dusting daily. I need a duster that will last a long time and do a great job. This one does it. For real. Also it is a fun sunshine yellow color and for some reason that puts me in a good mood while I’m cleaning (may also have something to do with the fact that I play sweet jams and have a dance party..check my cleaning playlist here).

O-Cedar Microfiber Steam Mop

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 11.08.31 PM

So, I actually know a lot of people who don’t own a steam mop so let me tell you why you absolutely should be cleaning your floor with one. 1. They visibly remove dirt and dust and stuck on food from your floors (vacuuming just doesn’t cut it here) 2. They kill 99% of bacteria with the disinfecting power of steam. Trust me on this. Your kids and pets have their faces on your floors. Sweeping isn’t going to sanitize your floors like this will. 3. It is super light and easy to carry around your home. 4. This particular steam mop comes with a convertible cover so you can steam and disinfect your carpets too! Have I given you enough reasons yet? Yes? Okay, great.

Clorox Toilet Bowl Cleaner

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 11.11.01 PM.png

Toilets are gross. We can all accept that. But they don’t have to be riddled with germs and molds and dark rings around the edges. This toilet bowl cleaner is the best I’ve found to get rid of staining, rings and smells (the three things you definitely don’t want in your bathroom). The only downside is the smell of bleach, but hey, at least you know it’s doing it’s job, right? It comes out in a thick gel and literally just coats the inside of your toilet. Leave it there for a few minutes and then come back and scrub it down with a toilet brush and voila! Cleanest toilet you’ll ever sit on.

Dawn Dishsoap 

Screen Shot 2016-06-14 at 11.11.46 PM.png

This probably goes without saying but dawn is the BEST dish soap for your kitchen. I think part of my love for Dawn comes from the fact that not only do they make superior product, they also love wildlife and actively work to protect animals and the environment. How can you not stand behind a company that works so hard to protect our planet? They have a variety of scents to fit every household and a variety of different types of dish soap to fit your dirty dish needs. I prefer Dawn Ultra Dishwashing Liquid but there are so many different kinds, I encourage you to try them all!


WOW. Okay we did it. Have I convinced you that you need to go scrub your home top to bottom now?? I definitely feel the need to. SO without further ado…drumroll please…

I’ve teamed up with O-Cedar to giveaway an AMAZING disinfecting steam mop to one of you beautiful readers. Read on to find out how you can enter and win!

Step One: “Like” my Facebook page (Blonde and Ambitious Blog)

Step Two: Follow my Instagram page (@blondeandambitiousblog) and tag a friend who would also like this opportunity in my giveaway post

Step Three: Come back here and comment “done” and be sure to include your favorite cleaning product and why you love it!

THAT’S IT! This giveaway will be going on until 10pm MST June 16th.

The winner will be announced Friday at 12pm noon MST. Good luck everyone!

14 thoughts on “Total Home Organization: Deep Clean.

  1. Oh I LOVE Clorox toilet cleaner. That stuff is the miracle cure for cleaning after boys! (And well, all kids really!) I’ve been wanting a steam mop! It sounds amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Done!
    My favorite cleaning product/tool is: the Clorox toilet wand! It kills 99.9% of germs, removes all rings and marks, and best of all it is DISPOSABLE!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Done 😀 We just moved into a new house and it has tons of tile, so this steam mop would be really useful! I personally love to make my own counter top solution. After I’ve washed it down with dawn soapy water I have a spray that I use. It’s made up of distilled white vinegar and a bunch of citrus peels that I’ve saved from all the lemons/ limes/ oranges that we’ve eaten. Basically I just put all the peels in a container and fill it up with vinegar. It’s great, has the cleaning power of vinegar but the citrus smell!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Done 🙂

    My favorite is the scrubbing bubbles foam cleanser for cleaning the bathtub. I love to take bubble baths, but I hate the yucky residue my favorite bubbles leave behind. The scrubbing bubbles cleanser takes it off with almost zero effort.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

