I Guess I Workout Now: Part One.

FullSizeRender.jpgI workout now.

Okay, sorry, I had to go wash my mouth out after saying that. Yeesh. I don’t workout. Well, now I do apparently, but before this week: definitely not. I don’t know how to use equipment effectively and two years ago I went to a gym and I was using a machine wrong and some guy walks up and goes “hey. you are using it wrong”, hardcore judged me and then laughed. OKAY BYE DUDE. At least help a woman out and tell me how I am supposed to be using it so I DON’T LOOK LIKE A FOOL. UGhhhghhghs. I’m clearly still salty about that.

So before the beginning of this week, that was about the extent of my workout experience. So it was going really well. I have always wanted to be in shape and toned and all that jazz. In high school, I danced and before that I was on a competitive cheer squad. So I didn’t really need to go to a gym. We did conditioning and running and dancing/cheering, so I didn’t see the point. I was fit.

Then I started college. 

It was pretty much all downhill from there. I lost my muscle definition (I’m still crying over that, btw), and I couldn’t run at all anymore. I mean if I’m being honest, I couldn’t walk up a flight of stairs without getting out of breath. So that brings me to where I am now. Two semesters away from graduating college and I can’t even walk up a flight of stairs without feeling death grip my lungs. I know you know what I’m talking about.

When I started dating my now fiancé, I knew he was athletic. He worked out everyday. He had muscles that made me swoon (they still do)… He loved doing outdoor activities and all these crazy things that make me super nervous. Things I had never really done before but he made me want to do them, too. Love is weird, man. And then I realized if I didn’t get in shape, I would never be able to keep up with this kid. And I want to keep up with him forever!

So I looked in the mirror one morning a few weeks ago and I didn’t really like what I saw. I missed how my body looked when I was dancing and cheering. I missed the muscles in my back and legs. That was when I decided it was probably time to hit the gym (*insert nervous sweat here*). I asked Adam (my fiancé) if he could make a workout plan for me to do in the mornings. And being the gem he is, he made me one. It’s scary but not impossible and I actually really like it. I also am going to start doing P90X with my best friend next week…

So I guess I workout now. Keep a lookout for my next fitness series post. I’ll be talking about my routines and giving you an update on how I’m holding up (the answer will be barely).

Comment below if you have any tried and true workouts that I should try out! I would love to hear them!

3 thoughts on “I Guess I Workout Now: Part One.

  1. Well a lot of fitness and working out in general is your mindset. No it’s not always fun but it really depends on how you are looking at it. Fitness and training your body can be so, so rewarding to see the progress and quiet literally “feel the burn” haha I’m excited to follow along in your fitness journey. It was my boyfriend (Now husband) who got me into the gym too! Best wishes! -Sarena

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

